Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
  Print page
  • Small Text
  • Medium Text
  • Large Text
About the Commission

Current Members

The Commission currently has three part-time members appointed by the Governor of Western Australia, although the Commission may consist of up to five members (two full-time and three part-time).  Of the part-time members, one is to be a private legal practitioner with not less than eight years’ experience; one is to be a person engaged in the teaching of law at a university in the State; and one must be an officer of the State Solicitors Office. 


Dr David Cox

Dr David Cox (Chair)
Dr David Cox joined the Commission in August 2014. He has a Bachelor of Laws with Honours from Murdoch University and a Bachelor of Science with Honours and a Doctorate of Philosophy from the University of Western Australia. He is a partner of the Western Australian law firm, Jackson McDonald. His practice assists clients in identifying and protecting their intangible assets. Prior to becoming a lawyer, he was a research scientist in the fields of biochemistry and physiology.



Dr Augusto Zimmermann

Dr Augusto Zimmermann
Dr Augusto Zimmermann LLB, LLM (PUC-Rio), PhD (Monash) joined the Commission in May 2012. He is a Senior Lecturer and Associate Dean for Research and Postgraduate Studies Director at Murdoch University, School of Law. He is the Founder and President of the Western Australian Legal Theory Association, a Vice-President of the Australian Society of legal Philosophy, and Editor of The Western Australian Jurist, a law journal published by Murdoch Law School. Dr Zimmermann was awarded the 2012 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research, and Faculty Research Awards in 2010 and 2011.


Ms Fiona_Seaward

Ms Fiona Seaward
Fiona Seaward joined the Commission in August 2015.  She is a Senior Assistant State Solicitor employed in the State Solicitor's Office, where she has worked in various capacities since 2000. Ms Seaward graduated from the University of Western Australia in 1999 with a Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours) and a Bachelor of Commerce.  Ms Seaward provides advice and acts as counsel for the State government and its agencies in relation to a range of matters, principally in the areas of administrative law, constitutional law, land compensation and the fields of privacy and information sharing.

Last updated: 31-Jan-2017

[ back to top ]

Home |  Privacy |  Disclaimer |  Copyright
All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.